Beth Malone-Led The Unsinkable Molly Brown Will Release Off-Broadway Cast Album

Cast recordings and albums

Beth Malone directed The unsinkable Molly Brown Will Release Off-Broadway Cast Album

Tony winner Kathleen Marshall directed and choreographed the newly reworked Meredith Willson musical for the band Transport in 2020.

David Aron Damane and Beth Malone in The unsinkable Molly Brown
Carol Rosegg

Broadway Records and Yellow Sound Label to Digitally Release Meredith Willson’s Off-Broadway Cast Album The unsinkable Molly Brown 22nd of July. The album features the cast of Transport Group’s 2020 production, led by Beth Malone in the title role.

The production featured Willson’s original score with some trunk songs from the music man interpolated writer’s archive, plus a newly revised book and additional lyrics by Dick Scanlan.

“As well as preserving a show that has been one of the happiest and most fulfilling of my career, part of the thrill of recording this score is introducing songs by Meredith Willson that no one has ever heard before. new The unsinkable Molly Brown“Scanlan said in a statement.

Featuring Malone, the album will feature performances by David Aron Damane, Whitney Bashor, Omar Lopez-Cepero, Alex Gibson, Paolo Montalban, Paula Leggett Chase, Lauryn Ciardullo, Karl Josef Co, Kaitlyn Davidson, Tyrone Davis, Jr., Gregg Goodbrod , Michael Halling, Nikka Graff Lanzarone, Keven Quillon and CoCo Smith.

The group, under the direction of Joey Chancey, includes Meg Zervoulis on acoustic piano and synth; Suzy Perelman on violin; Joe Wallace on double bass; Micah Burgess on arch top, steel strings, banjo and mandolin; John Skinner on alto saxophone, clarinet, flute and piccolo; Justin Vance on flute, clarinet, bass clarinet and tenor saxophone; Jami Dauber on trumpet and flugelhorn; Alex Jeun on tenor and bass trombone; and Barbara Merjan on percussion and drums.

Produced by Michael Croiter, Michael Rafter and Dick Scanlan, and recorded by Andy Manganello, the album will feature liner notes by Luis Miranda, orchestrations by Larry Hochman and additional orchestrations by Michael Starobin and Bruce Coughlin. Michael Rafter adapted the music and Joey Chancey is the music coordinator. The recording was mixed and edited by Croiter at Yellow Sound Lab and mastered by Michael Fossenkemper of Turtle Tone Mastering. The album was recorded on December 12, 2021 at Berklee’s Power Station in New York.

The reworked revival opened Off-Broadway on February 26, 2020 at Transport Group after previous stints at Denver Center Theater Company and St. Louis Muny. Directed and choreographed by three-time Tony winner Kathleen Marshall (everything is fine, The pajama game), the production included stage design by Brett Banakis, costume design by Sky Switser, with dresses for Malone by Paul Tazewell, lighting design by Peter Kaczorowski, sound design by Walter Trarbach, musical direction by Joey Chancey and the cast by Nora Brennan.

The musical tells the rags-to-riches story of Margaret “Molly” Brown – a turn-of-the-century heroine of the underdog, champion of women’s rights, fighter for labor rights, advocate for labor reform. immigration – and, most famously, Titanic survivor. A love story about a woman who has rejected the idea that it’s a man’s world, this new Molly Brown portrays Molly as she truly was – vibrant, progressive, modern.

Take a look at the full track list:
1. I’m not dead yet
2. The Wonderful Plan
3. Just Becuz
4. I have already started
5. Dance to Saddle Rock
6. Belly to the Bar, Boys
7. I already started (Reprise)
8. I’ll Never Say No/My Own Brass Bed
9. He’s My Friend
10. Are you sure?
11. Finale of the first act
12. Beautiful People of Denver / The Sacred 36
13. Share the Luck / He’s My Friend (Reprise)
14. I would like to change everything about you
15. Cup of tea
16. If We Can-Can
17. The Dolce Trio: Dolce Far Niente, the same little chapel, I may never fall in love with you
18. Wait for Me
19. Share the Luck (Reprise)
20. Quit Music
21. Bonus Track: Colorado My Home

Comments are closed.